Author Topic: Newbie - rethinking our vehicles  (Read 2346 times)

mousebandit

• Bristles
Newbie - rethinking our vehicles
« on: May 22, 2016, 10:24:56 PM »
Okay, so don't face punch me too hard!  Newbie here, and don't have the husband fully on board yet, but I'm trying to wrap my mind around some new mustacian ways.  Especially the cars. 

We're not quite like the typical stashe family.  We live 20 minutes from the nearest anything, a full 40-something miles from anything open past 9pm.  We have 4 little kids, all still in car seats and booster seats.  We have livestock, and utility trailers and haul 40 lb bags of feed and bales of hay regularly.  And my husband would shave his legs before he'd let me drive anything without 4wd, lol. And I've never disagreed with that, or even questioned it.  Loathed mini vans, made fun of them mercilessly. Until now. 

So I am trying to rethink our vehicles.  Up until now, we've been in high levels of debt, car loans on old suburbans, or lately paid off old suburbans, worth $2000-$3000.  Husband has an old Saturn commuter car for work.  We have to do a lot of little repairs here and there on these, which usually isn't the end of the world, because husband can do it, as long as he has time.

We recently moved, and now that we're this far out, trips to town are supposed to get few and far between,  like once a week or less.  It's more like twice or 3x a week so far, but getting better. 

Anyways, I'm looking at mpg for mini vans and vehicles that will seat 6 or more.  It seems like the Toyota Highlander hybrid is getting as good mileage as the minivans.  Is that for real, or am I just seeing what I want to see?

How do I figure out how much we should be spending on a vehicle purchase?  How do I determine how many miles a particular model and year vehicle can be expected to last?  When does the number of little repairs justify a newer rig?