Author Topic: Newbie question re recommended amount for housing  (Read 4613 times)

EarthSky

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Newbie question re recommended amount for housing
« on: May 27, 2012, 11:07:07 AM »
I read somewhere (I think in MMM's blog, but now can't find it) that a good guide for what to spend on housing is $200-300 per month per person.  Can someone explain the rationale behind this?  And does each child 'count' as a person? Thanks for your help!

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Newbie question re recommended amount for housing
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2012, 11:57:43 AM »
It would help if you can find that.  It's hard to defend or critique something with only a vague guess of what it said.

That being said, the normal rule of thumb is no more than 30% of your income on housing.  Mustachians would likely shoot for much less.

For example, the wife and I spend about 6% of our (combined net) income on housing (PITI+HOA).
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

keith

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2012, 02:17:14 PM »
I dont know if MMM has ever talked about it... but that quote certainly comes from Jacob (the ERE guy). $200-$300 per person. Source.

gooki

• Magnum Stache
    • My FIRE journal
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2012, 02:33:33 PM »
Considering the vast differences in housing costs by location I'd go with the percentage rule.

shedinator

• Bristles
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2012, 09:17:54 AM »