Author Topic: Newbie Mustachian with a guilty hair secret  (Read 3373 times)

VancouverSaver

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Newbie Mustachian with a guilty hair secret
« on: October 11, 2019, 04:37:50 PM »
Hi all,

This is my first post, so please be kind. I'm a newbie Mustachian with a guilty secret. I just calculated that this year so far I have spent $1,720 (Canadian) in the hair salon on cuts/colours. Obviously this needs to stop, but I don't trust hair schools and I feel like hair dye from a store does more damage than good.

Here's the longwinded history - I'm wondering if anyone here can relate and just make me feel better about it all, as I decide how I'm going to get out of this expenditure!

-I have brown hair but have been going grey since I was 18 and have been dying my hair almost consistently ever since.  I am now 38 years old.

- As a student in the UK, I just used boxes of hair dye and went to a cheap salon for cuts 1/2 times a year.

- In my 20s in Belgium, earning quite a lot, I started going to a salon. They said I had done damage to my hair with home dying. I don't have cost records, but these salon visits were less than current expenditure.

- As I hit my 30s in Vancouver, Canada, I found myself with less money and began going to a hair school for cheaper cuts/colours

- After a while, I decided to grow my hair out, without dying it, to see how grey I was. I was VERY, VERY grey.

- Exposing my grey during this time did not go well for my career, which relied on me being seen as "cool, young, and hip"

- So after a while I returned to the hair school for cheap cuts/colours again. This was fine UNTIL...

- One fateful day, a couple of years ago, the hair school student messed my hair up totally. They ran out of dye so the colour was all patchy, and the guy didn't know what he was doing with women's hair, so the haircut was a mess. I looked a total wreck. Unfortunately, I had to go to a Facebook conference with my boss in two days time.