Author Topic: Newbie looking for advice  (Read 2015 times)

Glyn

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Newbie looking for advice
« on: October 02, 2019, 07:30:23 PM »
Hi Everyone
I am new to FI (< a week) and MMM (1 day). I wanted to get some advice.
By the end of November I will be down to 1 credit card at 13.5k, a car loan at $7.5k and my mortgage. I was hoping to pay extra onto the car payment and try to get rid of that in 18 months by increasing my payments up from 232 to about $420. I have 3 options (maybe more but need input);
1. Should I pay off the car that and then use that money to pay off the credit card which is at 0%? (used car - 2013 but now has 110k miles)
2. Or should I use that extra $200 and try to put it into an account like VTSAX (which I learned about in the ChooseFI podcast ep 3 ( I just started)). I am pretty sure my retirement savings is not good.
3. or should I focus on getting my emergency fund up? (at a paltry 5k right now).

I also have some questions about my 401k and if it is optimized. It is at Fidelity and I am still contributing to it. Is it ok to ask about this or is it best via  PM?

thank you!
G

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Newbie looking for advice
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2019, 10:02:26 PM »
Glynixx, welcome to the forum.

Some reading and action assignments for you:
1. See http://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/ask-a-mustachian/which-loan-to-pay-extra-first/msg1307278/#msg1307278, download the spreadsheet from Vertex42, and use it to evaluate the costs of your loans.
2. $5K may or may not be fine as an e-fund amount for you.  See Emergency fund - Bogleheads.
3. See
the 'Basic Terms' tab of  the case study spreadsheet.
Getting started - Bogleheads
Investment Order
Stock Series
www.etf.com/docs/IfYouCan.pdf
for more reading material.

After digesting those - what questions remain, and what new ones do you have? :)

If you want to go into details, see How To: Write a "Case Study" Topic.

Good luck!

Raenia

• Magnum Stache