Author Topic: New Young Mustachian - Need Advice  (Read 5489 times)

lvoevge

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
New Young Mustachian - Need Advice
« on: July 08, 2014, 09:50:11 AM »
Hi all:

I'm a 24 year old PhD student. I'm studying natural resource economics and I'm looking at about $100k of debt when I finish. The good news is that I'm set to make roughly $100k to start as an economist. I'm trying to adopt more mustachian principles and make the best financial decisions for myself and my fiance.

Currently have no real investments (other than my education)
Roughly $800/month in living expenses
$70/week on groceries
Probably about $50 a week on random things/eating out
$4000 in savings

$2300/month income

I am wondering if anyone has any tips on how I can use this to create a surplus. I've been trying to just add money in savings each month but it never seems to happen.

Thanks.

Cheddar Stacker

• Magnum Stache
Re: New Young Mustachian - Need Advice
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2014, 09:54:07 AM »
What is the income from? Do they have a 401K plan?

What are the details on the student loans? Can you make payments toward the highest interest rate loan while still studying?

lvoevge

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2014, 09:57:20 AM »
What is the income from? Do they have a 401K plan?

What are the details on the student loans? Can you make payments toward the highest interest rate loan while still studying?

The income is from a graduate assistantship flat rate @ 1700/month and 500/month from my fiances employment.
The student loans are unsubsidized all at the same (estimated) interest rate of 400/month. I have 2-3 years left. The loans are deferred and no payment is required--interest or principal--until I graduate.

I'm in for quite a good starting salary, but I'm not sure if that justifies inaction now.

iampatriciag

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2014, 10:09:15 AM »