Author Topic: New Vanguard IRA Question  (Read 2537 times)

anxiousclothing

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
New Vanguard IRA Question
« on: September 24, 2017, 09:15:33 PM »
Im a newbie, and I apologize for my ignorance. I recently stumbled across MMM and it has completely changed viewpoints and have opened my eyes. Unfortunately, I am a SLOW learner and I have to read information several times to grasp the information. I understand the tIRA discussion and reasoning. Unfortunately, I already had a Roth IRA that I opened several years ago through a Financial Advisor that wasn't meeting my needs, mainly due to the fact that I was uneducated and extremely hands off. Last week I opened a Vanguard account and transferred my Roth IRA over to Vanguard. The transfer is complete and I see the funds are invested in (FGBLX) Fidelity Global Balanced Fund.

I have two questions. How do I transfer them to Vanguard (VTSAX)? I clicked on the Exchange button and it took me to a page to select the funds that I want to exchange for, however, there aren't any Vanguard funds to select. Am I doing this right?
I also see an account that says Vanguard Federal Money Market Fund (Settlement Fund). What is this and what do I need to do?

I included two pictures that I hope helps show what I am talking about. Please help point me in the right direction and any additional information would be VERY much appreciated. I would like to get on the right track and then submit a case study.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2017, 11:29:15 PM by anxiousclothing »

secondcor521

• Walrus Stache
  • Big cattle, no hat.
    • Age of Eon - Overwatch player videos
Re: New Vanguard IRA Question
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2017, 10:48:43 PM »