Author Topic: New to USA, need advice on doing the right thing  (Read 9361 times)

Tester

• Bristles
New to USA, need advice on doing the right thing
« on: May 21, 2015, 06:02:58 PM »

I am new to USA so I am sure I am missing some information on how to improve my tax situation.
I would also like to ask you to let me know if our plan is wrong.
We are a family of 3. We have a 3 year old child.
My wife is not working, she is staying with the child and taking care of his education (she is qualified to teach for children up to grade 5 in our home country).
She is thinking of getting a job, but right now she is getting better with her English.
I am dreaming (it is still dreaming right now) to a retirement at age 50 - this is 13 years from now.
I am relying on using RSUs from my employer plus getting rid of debt to get there quicker.
I am also taking into account the expenses which will appear for our child.

First, our (my plan):

1. Contribute to 401k to get the employer match - here in fact I contribute more.
2. Get rid of the debts - all of them. I will use employer RSU to do this, should pay almost all by the end of this year.
3. I am stuck here, as I don't know enough about the USA financial scene yet to be able to take good decisions.

I am thinking of following what is written in the excel but I would like to be able to understand why - so please let me know what to read :):
"
1. Contribute to 401k up to any company match
2. Pay off any debts over 7%
3. Max HSA, then Roth or Traditional IRA based on income level
4. Max out 401k
5. Pay off any debts over 5%
6. Invest in taxable account with any extra.
"

Also, another question:
I think I want to buy a car (note I did not say "I need a car" yet:) ).
We would like to have a car to be able to go to some nature places during the weekend with our kid.
Until now we used rental cars for a trip to BC and one to some friends 40 miles away, but I don't think this is the best way going forward.