Author Topic: New to the Forum, looking for some help from your seasoned 'staches.  (Read 4163 times)

Mr. Moneymustcash

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Greetings to the '$tache community!

I am relatively new to this financial independence thing. I hope to explain my situation to all of you and maybe someone will have some insights on how I can further optimize my life.

>Housing< ($500)
Currently, I live in a duplex with 2 other roomates. My rent and utilities combined is roughly $500 per month.

>Food< ($200)
I eat $10 of salad per week, grow my own veggies in my backyard, and I am starting my own tilapia pond for more protein and fish waste nutrient(for plants)
I like to buy in bulk and try my best to keep monthly grocery expenses below $200 per month.

>Transportation< ($40)
I own a Ford Ranger pickup that I use for Craigslist moving jobs in my area and for hauling things for various projects I am working on, or travel to see family in another town. I have a Trek bicycle that I use for errands and workout. Everything I need is within 10 miles round trip. At most I spend $40 per month in gasoline.

>Work<
I work from home with an annual salary of $34k

>Entertainment< ($8)
My roomates refuse to get rid of cable TV, but that is ok, because my portion of the expense is covered by my job @ $50 per month for internet, phone line. Our bundle price is $150 total. I spend only the $50 that the job pays.
We share a netflix account that costs $8 per month. Other than this, I get my entertainment from gardening outside or riding my bike or long distance running.

>Student Loans< ($100)
Currently, I owe $10k in student loans with an average interest rate of 6% combined subsidized and unsubsidized. Currently, I have been putting aside $100 per month on these loans.

>Other< ($137)
I have a $70 phone bill after my work's 20% discount