Author Topic: New to Consulting - Help me avoid beginner's mistakes  (Read 9724 times)

Smokystache

• Pencil Stache
New to Consulting - Help me avoid beginner's mistakes
« on: December 08, 2016, 02:42:01 PM »
Summary (tldr): I’ve suddenly gotten two potential offers to provide long-term consulting with some large corporations. I’m a college professor whose research is relevant to these two companies. When it comes to long-term consulting arrangements and fees, I have no idea what the hell I’m doing.

Questions:
 - I have no idea how much to charge for consulting. Company A says, “We’ll come up with a project proposal. Then you tell us how long it would take you and how much you charge.” How much is a reasonable hourly fee to charge a large company for consulting on reviewing and writing specialized content.
- I plan on pursuing a few projects with Company A. They have been open and great to talk with so far and I hope that it leads to a situation where I can be on retainer for them. Do I also try to work with Company B to keep all my options open?
- What are some considerations as I eventually come to terms with one or both companies? I’m trying to avoid the rookie mistakes that new consultants make.

Really Long Version:
I’m going to mask this a bit, because I am in a situation where I’m one of a handful of people in my field (it’s very specialized, but the work/research has broad implications; but I am not really an expert/researcher on amputees).