Author Topic: New to Board. Looking for Suggestions on Situation  (Read 3839 times)

slamuel

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
New to Board. Looking for Suggestions on Situation
« on: September 17, 2015, 02:19:35 PM »
Hi All,

I'm pretty new to MMM, but I've been reading a lot of posts and I've learned a lot over the last two months. I'm wanting to get my shit together over the next couple of years. Overall, I've made a mix of poor decisions and good decisions. I'm looking for you guys advice on my situation and plan below.

Quick Background -
I recently quit working for a large private company and decided to do contract/consulting work as a freelancer/self-employed individual. Previously, I was making around $95K + full benefits. Being my own boss has always been something I wanted to do and I think there is a good market for my services right now. In order to set myself up correctly for the long term, I just signed a very lucrative 18 month contract with a company through the end of 2016. This sort of gets my feet wet and will allow me to build up some financial reserves until I become a true freelancer in every since of the word.

A little bit of additional background -
I'm 29 years old and going to be getting married next year. We don't plan on having children and we live in the heart of a pretty large city in the rust belt region. Below is the information for both of us (as our finances are already pretty tied - though not legally)

Total Debts:
Mortgage Loan - $125K
Credit Card Debts - $13K
Home Improvement Loan - $5.5K
Auto Loan - $8K
Student Loans - $0K

Investments -
Wealthfront SEP IRA (just opened and transferred) - $35K
Fiance's work sponsored 401K - $25K
Vanguard SEP IRA (also just opened) - $4K

Savings -
General Savings Fund - $13K

Assets -
Estimated Home Value - $180K - $200K (we bought our home three years ago in a hot area for $130K, since then no home around us has gone for less than $180K and most of them are smaller and less updated than ours).