Author Topic: New to biking, want recommendation  (Read 3484 times)

settlement

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
New to biking, want recommendation
« on: August 20, 2015, 06:52:19 PM »
Hi all,

I am new to biking and wondering where to start. I want a basic bike to take me around the city, short distances probably about 5-10k max, but mostly shorter. Want a bike for the convenience of getting around and also it's healthy and cheap. I don't have a car nor do I need one.

Is my best bet to just go to a second hand bike shop and pick up something cheapass? Or is it worth getting a new bike? Any good online resources about this?

Im in melbourne if that helps

EDIT: forgot to add, the guy in the new bike shop recommended a $AU699 sirrus with flat handlebars

I don't care about speed
« Last Edit: August 20, 2015, 06:58:34 PM by settlement »

Emg03063

• Bristles
Re: New to biking, want recommendation
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2015, 07:40:33 PM »
I'd check out the under $200 bikes here and see if there's anything that suits you:

http://melbourne.craigslist.com.au/search/bia

mspym

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2015, 01:19:33 AM »
So many cheap bikes on gumtree in Melbourne! Another option if you want something new is Reid Cycles. Both myself and friends have had good experiences with their bikes and they are a *cheap* way to try it out without committing $700. Which is 3.5x the amount I spent on a Reid bike that was my main commuter bike in Sydney for 2 years and then handed down to a friend

settlement

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2015, 01:25:54 AM »
Thanks for suggestion.

Just went to Reid cycles website. New bikes there are sooo cheap. What's the catch?

vhalros

• Bristles
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2015, 06:10:09 AM »