Author Topic: New to all of this, need advice on finances/budget  (Read 4893 times)

castead

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
New to all of this, need advice on finances/budget
« on: September 28, 2013, 08:21:49 PM »
Hello everyone,

I am new to all of this and slowly have been starting to become more frugal and better understand money, but I'm still far far away from where I want to be and sometimes I feel like perhaps I have started too late. But better late than never, right? So my situation...

Im a 29 yearl old SAHM to a one year old boy. My partner is 31 and makes 35K/year. We just bought a $105K house.

Our baby was unplanned so we relocated to another state so we could live with family. Neither one of us had significant savings. After a year and a half we were able to come up with $11K by saving and family contributions. So we went ahead and bought a house, because I felt that later down the road we might not be able to afford it, but also because my partner has to drive over an hour each way to work from where we currently live. (The commute will be reduced to 25-30 min. Not enough, I realize. I did try finding something closer, but it is a small town and housing options where very limited, and practically non-existing within our budget.) Also, on a monthly basis it will be significantly cheaper than renting.