Author Topic: Apartment dilemma: short commute vs cheap rent  (Read 10662 times)

allspiritseve

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Apartment dilemma: short commute vs cheap rent
« on: June 21, 2013, 03:10:09 PM »
Hi everyone,

My wife and I are currently renting a 3 bedroom apartment for $1075/month (which will increase to $1107.50 in September). We've decided that's kind of steep, and have been able to find 2 and 3 bedroom apartments in the next town over for $750-800. The problem is, where we are now we can walk to work or to downtown. Moving to a cheaper apartment means a 40 minute busride one way or using the city's Park and Ride. I am a freelancer so it's hard not to think of a longer commute as costing me money.

We've tried finding cheaper apartments in the area, but it's a college town and good apartments are hard to come by. We've only got two years left before my wife finishes her PhD, so renting is really the only option right now.

What do you think? Any advice?

smalllife

• Pencil Stache
Re: Apartment dilemma: short commute vs cheap rent
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2013, 03:14:22 PM »
Stay where you are.  $300 for two adult commuters will go by fast, not to mention the irritation at the commute if you are used to walking/biking everywhere. 

Have you looked for other apartments in your same area? 

Is it just you and your wife (aka why so many bedrooms)?  If you were looking at 2 bedrooms one town over, why not look at 2 bedrooms in your current location?

matchewed

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2013, 03:38:04 PM »
Run the numbers a bit more. What is the cost of commuting if you move? Are there jobs in the next town? What other costs would you incur if you did choose to move? The math will lead you to the financially superior choice.

Eric

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2013, 04:59:19 PM »