Author Topic: New questions from a single mom  (Read 6729 times)

doingthisnow

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
New questions from a single mom
« on: February 06, 2017, 05:25:00 AM »
Hi! This is my first time posting, and it's honestly been years since I posted anything on an Internet forum!

I discovered MMM through the So Money podcast. At first I thought, "Yeah, right. There's no way I could do that. I'm a 34-year-old single mom with a negative net worth. It's too late for me." But then I started reading...

Turns out, maybe I can do this! I'm all fired up and spent most of the weekend looking at how to cut bills I thought were static and starting to convince myself I may not die if I ride a bike around town. (This one will take awhile to believe.) I know I can get fired up about things and then they fade away, so I wanted to reach out to the community to ask about any pitfalls I need to plan for. Here's the situation:

I make $60,500 a year. (<--This alone makes me believe I can reach FI bc when I got divorced 2.5 years ago I made $18k and had no idea how to earn more.)

On top of that base salary, I make about $6000 from a freelance gig each year. This year, I also have the opportunity for some big commissions, but I can't plan for those yet. My thought is to plan without them, then throw them towards debt or savings when they come.

So, $66,500 of pre-tax income. I also have a $3500 emergency fund, and the ex and I split custody and expenses 50/50. Also, my kids are getting older. They're 11 and 9, so within ten years they'll be starting their own adult lives.

I have some things working for me!

The bad news is I also have about $6000 in debt from when I was unemployed, $18,000 in a car note, and no retirement savings at all.