Author Topic: New Phone  (Read 1842 times)

Coueswhitetail

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
New Phone
« on: April 29, 2021, 08:33:11 AM »
Hi everyone, I'm new to the forum but have been learning about mustachianism for the last few years. I've read every post on the website, took notes, and loved it however I'm wanting a bit more info and recommendations on what smart phone I should purchase. I'm not a techie by any means, but I like my purchases to be robust and reliable. My criteria are as follows:
1. Sub $200
2. Long support life; I want to purchase a phone and not have to get another one for a while
3. T-mobile compatible; I use mint
4. Relatively strong; I'm a college student and while I don't use my phone for school, being able to support things like google docs, gmail, and various messenger apps is important.

Let me know what you folks would recommend. Thanks in advance!

Syonyk

• Magnum Stache
    • Syonyk's Project Blog
Re: New Phone
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2021, 04:15:34 PM »
See if you can get a lightly used 2020 iPhone SE (NOT the older SE, that's end of life).

It's going to run you a bit more than $200, likely, but I'm finding lightly used ones in the $250 range for 64GB, which should be fine.

Get a basic screen protector and liquid silicone sort of case, you're under $300, with a well protected phone that works on any network that should last 6-8 years of OS support.

The iPhone 6S I replaced recently because the camera was dusting up again (I'm tired of cleaning it out) was released in late 2015, and is still in full OS support in 2021 - it will likely fall out of support end of this year, which means 6 years of full software support.  I'd expect the newer ones, with more capable CPUs, to be supported longer - the rate of increase in hardware specs is slowing down over time, so stuff is supported longer if the company cares to, which Apple tends to.