Author Topic: New PhD student, 55k in savings account, how to start growing my money?  (Read 11236 times)

DSA

• 5 O'Clock Shadow

Hi, I'm a 25-year-old software developer who is going back to grad school to get a PhD in CS at Purdue (I will be starting May 1 as a research assistant to work early with my advisor on a computer graphics project). I think I've historically been a pretty frugal person (and guides like Mr Money Mustache's seem appealing to me). For the next few years I will be living on a PhD stipend, and while it will be meager, when considering my monthly expenses (and including yearly expenses, split up monthly) I will be just about breaking even.

Right now the one thing I've got going for me is that from the past couple years of working as a software developer (and living with the parents) I have about $55,000 in my credit union's savings account. I recognize that while I'm in school I will not be really having more income than what is needed to maintain. Therefore, a big priority for me is figuring out how to do something with that blob of saved money that benefits me more than just having it sit in an account with barely any return.

I recently got my first car (2008 Prius) used from CarMax, and am financing through my credit union. It is at $15,000 with 2.99% interest, for 48 months. One question I have: how quickly should I be paying this off? As I have $55,000 in my savings account, I imagine I could pay the whole thing off in one go (am I deluding myself by pretending that I have 55k with a 15k loan, when I truly have 40k?). On the other hand, I had also heard from my parents about the value of establishing credit by paying it back over time according to the standard payment schedule, or somewhat faster (maybe in 2-3 years instead of 4).

I also have a Schwab account, a SIMPLE IRA set up by my previous employer. I did the maximum matched contributions, and here is the information about it:

- Total Accounts Value: $5,844.60