Author Topic: New Mustachian seeking advice on debt repayment v. retirement v. savings  (Read 2472 times)

stackofshort

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
So, after a lifetime of abysmal financial decisions, things are starting to look up. I'm new to the Mustachian lifestyle and the idea of early retirement and am officially smitten. I've had several big life events and changes come my way but am starting a new gig as an independent contractor next month with a $20,000 pay raise and need a little Mustachian advice on how to proceed to get on track.

Here are my basic stats:

Marital status: Single
Salary: $70,000
Debt: $53,000 ($40,000 student loans / $13,000 high-interest credit card/medical)
401k balance: $3,000 (just started contributing in January 2016)
Monthly living expenses: roughly $2250 / $27,000 per year

In late June, I am set to receive a $6,000 check from a settlement and have designated that to go towards credit card and medical debt. This will leave two credit cards with the $7,000 remaining balance (I know, I knooow) and my $40,000 in student loans. I am looking to pay these all off within 2 years or less.

I've made spreadsheets on top of spreadsheets to figure out how to pay off all my debt by July 2018. I still have about $500 or so left over each month to work with within this plan. Should I be less aggressive in my student loan repayment and divert some to go towards maxing out retirement and health savings accounts? Or should I just put the remaining $500 into a savings account? Or should that $500 go right back into faster debt repayment? I'd hate to miss out on two years of potential interest and investment, but debt-free is also the most delicious idea in the world. I also know I am way too new to this area and am open to guidance/suggestions.