Author Topic: New Mustachian, how can I solve my commute?  (Read 3989 times)

Luke_MMM

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
New Mustachian, how can I solve my commute?
« on: June 06, 2016, 08:39:30 PM »
TL;DR - skip till linebreak:

So I graduated college almost exactly a year ago, and have now wound up working in NYC as a software engineer at a great company. I've always had little theories in my head about how lifestyle inflation and debt are things I'd like to avoid with my decent salary - and always entertained the thought of retiring early. Then, of course, I found MMM and read the whole blog front to back over a couple weeks, and everything became so much clearer to me.

I started off by paying off all of my student loans, instead of paying them off slowly while letting my money rot in the bank. About a 4.3% annual return! Would be maybe wiser to invest, and hope for greater returns while paying off loans, but I prefer to have a debt-free mind.

I also committed to not getting a car any time soon. I used to have one until I totaled it in a big accident (no other cars hit). The car was very old and I got as a gift from a family member, so it wasn't a huge disaster. I realized that I only have need of a car once or twice per month with my current lifestyle. Usually I can just bike in those circumstances, or worst case, borrow one of the three cars that other family members have around. Not having a car saves me on wasted insurance, and of course, gas.

As a helplessly technical person, I eventually entrenched myself in hordes of spreadsheets to do calculations across various assumptions to see when I would retire. Looks like I can pull it off in 6 or 7 years, to the tune of a 30 to 40k income at a 4% WR. I'm super excited about that possibility, though it seems like an eternity away at this point.

Anyway, the problem I have is this: