Author Topic: New location within company?  (Read 2780 times)

JeffS

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
New location within company?
« on: September 09, 2016, 05:37:26 PM »
Hello all,

I currently work in San Antonio, Texas commuting 25 miles one way to my 65 hour a week job making $13.74 on straight pay and $20.61 on overtime. I am 23 and still rather inexperienced in aviation having only been in the job for about a year. To make more money in aviation, I need more experience (duh) and to get out of SA. I feel as if I am not getting the work experience that I need to advance and that there isn't much room to advance anyway. I am currently a C level mechanic, entry level; a class A mechanic here might make around $18 an hour. Leads make a little more and from there it's management. I was told by the head of HR that if I was interested in relocating to Lake Charles, LA, I would be guaranteed $17 an hour and I am assuming nearly as much OT. I could also relocate to Indianapolis, Oklahoma City, or Everett, Washington, but I only know the pay I could make in Lake Charles. They did say if I was seriously interested in relocating, they would send me to whichever location for two weeks so I do not end up stuck there if I hate it. It would be a permanent move unless relocation is something I want down the road.

Perks of SA:
Cheap rent. I pay $550 a month, bills included, for a bedroom in a 3br house, however it is far away
The facility I work at has EV quick charge spots that I get to use for free to charge my Chevrolet Volt (that I bought used, not very Mustachian but I did pay cash)
Overall spending in SA is $750 with about $250 for groceries for myself and my wife

Disadvantages of leaving SA:
Moving. Company will give a relocation package if I decide to go, but it's basically an advance since I will be paying it back. Not sure if I can match rent here.