Author Topic: New Job Analysis  (Read 1365 times)

James Simmon

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
New Job Analysis
« on: December 09, 2018, 05:12:09 PM »
Hi-

I've been reading for a long time, but this is my first time posting. I need some analysis help!

I have a phone call follow up tomorrow from an interview that I did l last week. I'm trying to figure out if this new job make financial sense.

I am a former classroom teacher and currently work with other teachers in my school district. My total compensation (salary + state pension) is around $70K. Because school contracts are collectively bargained, I know that next year I will make $74K and the $78K the following year. I am in program to get my second masters to get these raises (and potentially a higher paying position in the future). I have a year and a half left of the graduate program at an additional cost of $7K. In this current position I get 10 weeks off in the summer that coincides with my kids summer break. I would estimate that me being home with them will save us $3K this summer. My current commute is 30 miles and takes about 1hr 15 mins. Moving closer to work is not an option. We live close to my parents and they help out with childcare. My boss is great and allows me to be pretty flexible in hours, which is helpful with getting kids to where they need to go, but there are some limitations to this; meaning I can't just leave whenever I want.