Author Topic: New credit card or request limit increase to improve credit score?  (Read 19741 times)

frizzyfrisbee

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
New credit card or request limit increase to improve credit score?
« on: September 17, 2013, 08:21:28 PM »
Hello and greetings expert Mustachians! I have a question that perhaps some of you can answer or offer thoughts on: Should I open a new credit card or request a limit increase on my current (and only) card to improve my credit score in the long run?

My situation: I'm a undergrad student, 22 years old. I'll be graduating in January, and already have a couple potential job offers in IT (entry level helpdesk, gotta pay my dues) when I do graduate. I have a stable living situation, am in control of my finances (though my student loans are looming on the horizon..), and not looking to make any big purchases in the next 5-10, e.g. car, house, etc.

I opened my first credit card about a year ago (August 2012). At the time, I applied for two cards and received one. There were one or two other inquiries prior to opening my card because I was looking for a place to rent last summer. But since August of last year, I haven't opened any other credit cards or had any other hard inquiries on my credit.  Before that, the only lines of credit I had open were my student loans.  Anyway, my TransUnion credit score is now 713 (according to Credit Karma, which is an awesome site btw).

I've always paid off my credit card in full every month (I usually make payments every two weeks actually) and have never paid interest, missed a payment or incurred any fees. It has a limit of $800 and my credit utilization is about 10-15%.