Author Topic: New College Grad  (Read 1766 times)

Kinosh

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
New College Grad
« on: May 29, 2016, 09:22:11 PM »
Hello everyone. I've read MMM for a long time but just decided to register...

Need some help with a general assessment of my situation. There are three main areas of focus:

1) I have lived on 8-12k in bare bones expenses while in college. I studied engineering and had to move often for work. The basic story is that I earned ~100k in five years of school and spent ~70k. The spending includes my private pilots license (a long time dream of mine that was completed prior to my father dying) and elective travel. At this point, I hold a BA in Mech Eng. and approximately 20k in a roth and post-tax accounts. I have a full time job starting in a week with my coop company. I will be moving to Texas in the next year. 62k salary ( to be adjusted once I get to Texas) and full benefits. I am 23.

2) After my father died a year ago, I saw my sister struggling with college costs. My grandfather, cousin, and myself collectively allocated ~25k towards getting her schooling finished. 12.5k remains and she is on track to graduate. We decided we wanted to ensure she graduated on the degree she was halfway thru. I can finish my commitment with another 4.5k worth of expenses. She spent half her time in community college then transitioned to a four year school.

3) I have approximately 10k in debt split between my mother and a Discover card at 4% interest. No student loan debt. Based on past repayment trends (from when I earned ~80k by working ridiculous hours as an engineering coop), I think I can repay this in approximately 12-15 weeks. This does not include my signing bonus because it has a clawback provision.