Author Topic: new career with pensions and such--game plan?  (Read 4654 times)

up.up.away

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
new career with pensions and such--game plan?
« on: October 17, 2012, 01:38:57 PM »
Hello all! I've almost worked my way through the MMM blog archives, but this is my first venture into the forum. We're complete beginners in the financial world...

My husband and I are mid-20s, and he will be finishing his Master's degree (no debt!) in the spring and entering ordained ministry. His starting salary will be $47,000, which does NOT include an 18% pension and a housing stipend (all told, I think the package is worth around $80K). We live in the the south-central part of the country... so, living expenses should be pretty low wherever we end up.

Here are our current numbers:

Checking: $4000
Savings: $6000
Vanguard Index Funds (split equally between stocks and bonds): $17,000
Debt: $0
Car: 2007 Yaris (paid off)
Income (church support, my part-time job, etc. This is a super rough estimate--I just signed up for Mint to start tracking): ~1500/month... will drop by ~300 next semester
Future Income: $10,000 from selling our share of some family land to another family member. Should go through some time next year