Author Topic: New career at 30 with low entrance  (Read 2126 times)

tungu2

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
New career at 30 with low entrance
« on: February 23, 2020, 02:32:34 AM »
Hello everyone,

This summer/fall I will be relocating to the US. I am currently half the globe away and in the field I desperately hate. I have a degree in law and no intention to become an attorney in the US (I also hate debt and paying for an LLM degree with questionable ROI is out of the question). I am considering becoming a paralegal but still have conflicting feelings about staying in the field. Also, most job openings in my area of law are in SF and Seattle, and I don’t understand how people afford rent there on the average paralegal salaries reported.

My saving will allow me to pay for a certificate, probably I can afford an associate’s as well. I am looking into those that may enable a career start in my early 30s with only unrelated experience.

I don’t mind any type of work, however, I am not physically strong. I am relatively good with numbers but failed at every attempt to learn coding. I am also a so-called highly sensitive person and I do not handle stress that well. An introvert. Heavy accent, but no problems understanding people.

Any suggestions for degrees/careers worth looking into at 30+ and good ROI would be highly appreciated. Thanks.

LWYRUP

• Handlebar Stache
Re: New career at 30 with low entrance
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2020, 06:04:52 AM »
If you are good at math, perhaps tax / accounting.  If you are good at verbal skills, something involving editing or writing policy papers.  I'd start out by freelancing and if you like something, think about how you can build on that.  Good luck!

GreenQueen

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2020, 06:13:32 AM »