Author Topic: Negotiating Salary/Benefits for a Federal Job  (Read 24140 times)

Michael in ABQ

• Magnum Stache
Negotiating Salary/Benefits for a Federal Job
« on: February 09, 2018, 10:39:39 AM »
I believe I will be getting a tentative offer for a GS-11 federal job shortly. I've read about negotiations for federal jobs but I'm hoping to get some insight from anyone here who has had success (or failure) at negotiating something higher than Step 1 for a federal job.

I haven't received or accepted the tentative offer yet but it sounds like once I accept that tentative offer all negotiations are off the table. I would like to get at least a few steps higher and I think I can make the argument that because I have 7 years of relevant job experience I should start at Step 6 which would take 7 years to get to under normal circumstances. Another factors are that my health insurance costs will rise a fair amount because I'll no longer be eligible for Tricare Reserve Select through the National Guard which is cheaper and better than the federal healthcare options. A third factor is that this job is for a term not to exceed four years so I think an argument can be made that the pay should be higher to compensate for the fact that I am unlikely to be able to get a pension. On the last point I recognize that once in the system it would probably be a lot easier to find a new job but I'm not really looking to be a federal employee for the next 20+ years; at least not right now.

In addition to trying to negotiate a higher salary because of my work experience and military experience (15 years in the NG come April) I am going to ask to start accruing leave at 6 or 8 hours per pay period instead of 4. I read about a civil service rule covering this so I think there's a decent chance to get that.