Author Topic: Negotiating a raise for an internal promotion - Update and Bad News  (Read 2943 times)

LizzyBee

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I'm being promoted at work from a coordinator to a program manager (it's not official yet). I work in the education field and when I search glass door, the average salary for a program manager in my city is $90,000. The national average is $96,000. I currently make $87,700 and don't supervise anyone. As a program manager, I will supervise 7 people and the scope of my job will increase.

My boss has told me she wants me for the job and is going to quietly post the position, let me apply and then close the position. How should I approach the negotiations? I want to shoot for $95,000, but maybe I could get more? I feel like I have some leverage in that my boss has told me I'm the right person for the job and doesn't want to open the job to anyone else. But, I've also lost some negotiation power because I've already told her I want it. Raises are hard to come by in my department so I don't want to screw this up by not asking for what I deserve. I don't have previous "official" program management experience, although I play this role informally in my current job.

Update:

The position finally got posted today and the salary range is 69,000 to 88,000. I already make 87,700. Are there any HR folks here? Is there any way HR will accept a salary above the highest range listed? I know I can negotiate with my boss, but maybe it is not up to her.

Also, this new job will have so much more responsibility. Can I negotiate based on the fact that I make x amount now and in the new role requires a much larger scope with direct reports so I should be making more or am I just screwed because I already make the top of the range for the new role?