Author Topic: Negotiate bonus?  (Read 1773 times)

Emg03063

• Bristles
Negotiate bonus?
« on: October 09, 2015, 09:00:58 PM »
Background:  I'm an engineer in a sizeable factory and have been with my present company for just under a year.  I hired in as a production supervisor, and was switched to a different department about 6 months in, after getting caught up in some conflicts between my former boss & his boss (the guy that hired me).  I now work for a different dept. head who reports to a plant manager who is at the same level as my original hiring manager; they both report to a vp of manufacturing.  Wednesday morning, a former counterpart from my original department informed me that he would be training me on his analytical lab duties, as he was leaving the company and they needed me to cover these tasks until he is replaced (today was his last day).  This is 2-3 hrs of work per day with occasional weekends.  My current management has made it clear to me that they don't expect me to come in on weekends for this task, but sure enough, my former boss asked me today if I could do exactly that.  I said I could (his boss--my original hiring manager's request), but that he should ask his boss what's in it for me (half joking).  I don't mind coming in to do the work, but I don't have any real interest in giving up my weekends for free (I'm salary exempt).  My current boss has expressed the fact that he will be understanding about the time this will take, but I don't realistically see comp time as an option anytime in the foreseeable future.  I'd like to see my extra time rewarded with a lump sum bonus at a reasonable rate (say $250 per weekend day in, or so).  Their budget should certainly allow for it as they are down one in head count now.  The guy who I'm replacing in this task said that he asked for extra money when he took it on & was refused (part of the reason he's leaving).  Before he took it on as an additional duty, it was a full time job.  Some of the lab w