Author Topic: Need outsiders perspective  (Read 6398 times)

Murse

• Pencil Stache
Need outsiders perspective
« on: March 03, 2019, 06:08:03 PM »
I guess I am wanting someone to tell me that I am coast/barista FI and will be fine.
Age-26, married 0 kids but will likely have kids in 2-3 years.
Assets- let’s call it 170k invested.
Problem- I am an on call nurse, have been for 2 years waiting for a permanent position to open at my current facility. When I arrived I had a frank conversation with my boss asking her to do her best to maintain my hours at full time. Our schedules are now changing, my boss attempted to get another position opened and was told no. My hours are about to be cut as soon as she hires someone (lower level nurse, this vacant position is why I was able to keep my hours up.)

I guess I am stressed for a few reasons-1) I was hoping to max my 457 by June, currently putting on the equivalent of half my salary in. 2) I have a 457 loan, this amounts to about 8% of my gross pay 3) my contract is up in June (I am in a limited duration position.) this will likely be renewed, my position saves on over time but is not a sure thing 4) we are moving on May 1st and dropping the roommate as well as increasing our rent about 30%. Realistically rent will increase to about 10-12% of our HH gross income.

Basically I am feeling an irrational amount of fear/anxiety over all this, I need someone or multiple someone’s to rationally spell out that we will be okay.

RWD

• Walrus Stache
Re: Need outsiders perspective
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2019, 06:31:53 PM »
What are your total expenses now? Expected expenses in the future with kids? How do these numbers compare to your household income with your salary cut? $170k could be pretty difficult to coast on depending on the answers to those questions and your expectations for how long you (and spouse) will coast.

Murse

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2019, 07:14:28 PM »