Author Topic: Need motivation for job search or something  (Read 6192 times)

rugorak

• Bristles
Need motivation for job search or something
« on: January 25, 2013, 09:51:07 AM »
So here is the short version. I am employed, have good job security, but am utterly miserable. Too much small town politics and just idiocy beyond belief. I work in IT so should have an easy time finding something somewhere (system administration specifically). My issue comes down to just loathing the process of applying for work and not really having direction. I would have to move to get a new job as I am pretty rural right now and there are no other employers in the area that are big enough to have actual sys admins for the IT systems. I do want to move anyway as I am sick of nothing much to do. I love the mountains but am quite a ways from any on the rural side and even to see a movie (not at home) takes 45 minutes to get to. Basically farmland area and not much else.

Ideal place would be bigger than where I am now (I live in a tiny hamlet 10 miles from a villages of just over 2,000 and nearest cities are 45-60 minutes away). But it wouldn't be huge (such as NYC, etc) and I love the mountains (sking/snowboarding in the winter and hiking in the summer) so not too far away from nature. But it would be nice to at least make the same or more than I am now as well since I work for a healthcare network and our wages have been stagnant for years (even before the housing bubble burst). I don't have any particular area in mind. I've been leaning towards suburbs of Boston (and even considering a listing in NH 2 hours from Boston I saw recently).