Author Topic: Need help with making sure we're on track  (Read 3210 times)

rubberguard

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Need help with making sure we're on track
« on: December 27, 2017, 08:41:09 AM »
First off, thanks in advance for reading this.  I am very new to the FI world and becoming more and more obsessed by the day.

All financials stats are for my wife and I combined, DINK.

Ages: 33 and 32
Hoping to stop working full-time around early 50's.  We will not be having children.
This will be the first time really paying attention to where our money and efforts go. 

Income: $150,000
401ks: $151,000
Roth IRAs: $26,000
Savings/Emergency Fund: $43,000
Checking: $5,000

Debts
Mortgage: $175,000@3.25% left on $280,000 house(15 year loan)
Cars: $10,000@2.25%(3 year loan)

I am a bit on the fence about owning so much home(payments are $1,600/month), but we just moved in 1 year ago and love the location/big backyard for the dog.  Wondering if the house is a major item that needs to be dealt with.

We are planning to budget hard in 2018 and strive for a 40-50% savings rate.

Is thew general recommendation to fill employer match on 401ks, and roth limits before attempting to pay down extra mortgage principal?

Meeting with a financial planner next week, and would love to have more information/questions to bring to the table.
« Last Edit: December 27, 2017, 09:47:41 AM by rubberguard »

oldmannickels

• Stubble
Re: Need help with making sure we're on track
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2017, 08:50:13 AM »
40-50% of what income?

(37k) 401k contributions
(33k) taxes
(38k) after tax savings (to get to 50% of 150k)
42k to live off of should be easy shoot for 60%

Tuskalusa

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2017, 08:57:01 AM »
Hi there. From the limited information here, the thing that jumps out at me is the car loans. Can you aggressively pay those off, or sell those and buy cars for cash?