Author Topic: NEED HELP PLEASE! A budgeting/excel guru to proof my FIRE calculations! (Canada)  (Read 3190 times)

Saskatchewstachian

• Stubble
Hello fellow Mustachians,

So I am new to the FIRE world and new(ish) to MMM, I have read every article and just joined the forums. By reading through the articles and learning things such as SWR's and such coupled with my love of excel from my engineering background I have created a spreadsheet for myself and DW to detail our path to RE.

All of the math seems correct the only problem is that it seems TOO EASY! Even with an insanely lavish spending plugged in (facepunches welcome) we could still retire at 45 with 2.6 million invested and a NW of about 3.3 million. Are these calculations correct!?

I have just picked an arbitrary age but it can be adjusted in the spreadsheet.

I also have it calculated in the spreadsheet to have the mortgage paid off by the time we're 40.

Currently we are 25YO DINK's (Engineer and Registered Nurse) but kids will be added in a couple of years.

Would greatly appreciate any help a more seasoned expert would be able to give me.

Cheers to FIRE!

human

• Pencil Stache
I don't have excel and I'm to lazy to upload this into google docs. Many people rely on the 4% withdrawal rate and times 25 your expenses. Are your expenses in the spreadsheet? My expenses are currently 26K a year so I need 650k to retire.

You want 2.6 million! divided by 25 that's 104k a year! Assuming you could save up that and returns are what you are expecting (what are you expecting?) who the hell can't live off of 104k a year?

You guys are 25, that's your big advantage, save now. Don't be fools and wait until you are 37 like me! You have 12 years on me! The kids and house will throw a wrench in your plans, stay away from cars for each kid, $10,000 proms and Disney vacations. Save now not later, the compounding interest 20 years from now will be the big difference.