Author Topic: Need advice: retirement plans for freelancer  (Read 1586 times)

cole.mike

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Need advice: retirement plans for freelancer
« on: October 31, 2019, 11:00:36 AM »
I'm sure the answer is "it depends" but I wanted to gauge to see if there was a super obvious answer. I am currently a freelancer and have a Roth IRA through Betterment that I'm maxing every year. I need to find where I'm going next. My wife works for the state and has some sweet retirement benes, but I'm looking more for me. I was thinking of creating an SEP IRA through Vanguard, but wasn't sure if there's benefits to that over a traditional IRA or 401K? I'm kind of at the point of analysis paralysis, feel overwhelmed, and need pointed in the right direction.

terran

• Magnum Stache
Re: Need advice: retirement plans for freelancer
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2019, 12:03:00 PM »
Unless you're pushing $300k of business income or have a regular job with a 401(k)/403(b) you contribute to a solo 401(k) will offer a higher limit than a SEP IRA. You might not want to open one if you plan to hire employees, but as long as your business is just you (or you and your wife) then a solo 401(k) is the way to go.

You might want to do some research on the new section 199a Qualified Business Income (QBI) deduction that was introduced with the 2018 tax bill. It gives you a tax deduction equal to 20% of your business income (QBI) if you qualify, but tax deferred contributions to a self employment plan aren't counted towards QBI, so you get a deduction equal to 100% of the contribution, but also loose 20% of the contribution in the form of lost QBI deduction. This essentially means your marginal tax rate savings on these contributions are 80% of what your normal marginal tax rate is. 12% becomes 9.6%, 22% becomes 17.6%, etc. For this reason if can be beneficial to contribute to Roth solo 401(k).