Author Topic: Need advice - pros and cons of job with major pay cut!  (Read 3312 times)

hoodedfalcon

• Pencil Stache
Need advice - pros and cons of job with major pay cut!
« on: September 22, 2017, 12:58:02 PM »
Hello brilliant minds - I find myself in a bit of a situation that I am having a hard time wrapping my head around. In a nutshell: Do I take a remote job that will be a 30K/year pay cut but will allow me to spend more time with my SO who lives 4 hours away?

Current job: I am currently a lawyer working at a non-profit making 80K/year with pretty great benefits (100% employer paid health insurance premiums, 5 weeks paid vacation, 37.5 hour workweek, 5% 401K match) though the workplace itself is mired in dysfunction. There are general bad-attitudes, poor management, and lots of passive aggressive attitude (sometimes full on aggression). My recent promotion has me supervising folks, which it turns out I don't really like. However, just last month I paid off my private student loans (wooo!) but I still have 90K in federal loans, which are set to be forgiven under PSLF in 3.5 years. I am currently contributing 18K to my 401K and as of this month have an additional $1500/month I can throw at savings, because my living expenses are pretty low (under 2K/month).