Author Topic: Need advice on moving out in Toronto  (Read 3313 times)

bidoof

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Need advice on moving out in Toronto
« on: October 23, 2015, 03:39:44 PM »
Background:
--------------

I'm 24, and I live in Toronto. I work as a freelancer (self-employed, which means I collect HST and get to write off business expenses) at home doing programming work, and earn around $60k/year (I have one client that occupies most of my time, give or take a few smaller jobs that come up each year). I've lived with my parents up until now, and while it's kinda sucked, living with them since graduation (May 2014) has allowed me to amass a nice 'stash, to the tune of approximately $100,000. I have a maxed out TFSA + RRSP, plus some taxable mutual funds that I inherited a while ago. I don't have any debt, and I have excellent credit. I'm also looking to move out. I'm seeking advice on what to do with regards to a living situation, because I don't want to make a poor decision that screws me over decades from now (having this much money saved up means I'm not concerned about going bankrupt any time soon, but I don't want to accidentally end up treading water and have to work for a few more decades because I did something stupid.

I'm looking to move out because things have gotten crazier at home, to the point where my productivity has dropped immensely. I'm not being forced out or anything, but things are overall kinda shitty. My current job lets me work from home, which is a rather nice perk. I meet with clients every few weeks or so, so I don't have to commute or anything (all of my clients are in Toronto). I also don't have a car (but can drive).

Decisions to be made:
-------------------------

-- Should I move, or should I just STFU and put up with the insanity (and enjoy a savings rate of around 95%)

-- Renting or buying (I'm against buying[0], but I feel that it has to be included for the sake of completeness)