Author Topic: Need advice for a vehicle decision  (Read 3460 times)

use2betrix

• Magnum Stache
Need advice for a vehicle decision
« on: May 06, 2015, 12:23:00 PM »
I have lived a long time being very un-mustachian. Since joining the forum I have been convinced to use a portion of my savings to pay off my student loans, and start investing in my 401k. I already had a small one, but now nearly maxing it out along with my Roth. So thanks for the advice thus far.

Anyways, I still have past financial decisions impacting me today.

A little background: I work in the industrial construction industry and travel all over the country. I'm 27. Because of all the travel, often on short notice, I live full time in a 5th wheel with my gf of 3 years and dog of 11 years. 2 years ago I purchased a 42' 5th wheel that we live in. With my dog, hotels were often impossible, and apartments to find difficult. Sometimes finding apartments that would allow month to month leases was next to impossible. The 5th wheel MSRP was 84k, and I bought it for 56k.

Along with the 5th wheel, I needed a truck to pull it. Of course, along with that I also bought a top of the line truck, to the tune of around 60k.

Now, I'm trying hard to pay these off, and I'm considering selling the truck, but trying to weigh the pro's and con's. I owe roughly 45k on it.

Regardless, I would still need something reliable to pull my camper when I move. And no, you can't rent trucks that can tow 15,000 lbs. I can hire a driver, but on some of my moves that would cost $2500, vs my $0.

I am thinking I can have my truck paid off by the end of the year, and just hold onto it, or I could sell it, and get a truck for about 30k that is still powerful and reliable enough to pull my camper. I could also then turn my 99' camry into my DD, thus cutting back on the $150 oil changes, $220 fuel filter changes, and $1600 sets of tires that last 50k miles.