Author Topic: Need Advice- Career Change, Grad School, what to do?  (Read 1440 times)

mountain mustache

• Pencil Stache
Need Advice- Career Change, Grad School, what to do?
« on: October 05, 2018, 06:26:43 PM »
I've been reading here for a couple of years, and posting here or there, and really fired up about increased frugality, being financially independent and feeling in control of my finances and future.

I am 27 years old, and graduated from college with a degree in Kinesiology (Fitness studies, exercise physiology, etc) in 2012. Since then I have mostly worked in the outdoor industry, doing various sales, retail, and support roles. It has been fun because it's allowed me flexibility to enjoy racing bikes, camping, road tripping to races, etc.

I was very fortunate to go to college for free on scholarship, so I graduated at $0. No money to my name, but no money owed. Since then my jobs have ranged between $10-$17 an hour. I am currently making the most I have ever made in the outdoor industry ($17!!) but no benefits at all. no health insurance, 401k, time off, etc. This didn't bother me much in my early 20s, but I am really starting get tired of the instability of my job, the random income, and honestly it would just be nice to have some benefits. Also, the outdoor industry is not exactly stable, and I don't count on it providing a "career" for me in the long run. I don't want to work forever, not even until 50, but I know I am not on that path now. I don't have debt, and my spending is fairly optimized (with the exception of some emergencies this year), and I just feel like the only way to reach my goal is to make more money at this point.