Author Topic: My wife's medication costs $5,000 a month  (Read 12429 times)

Glyph

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
My wife's medication costs $5,000 a month
« on: May 19, 2015, 03:18:09 AM »
There's this great disease called multiple sclerosis, in which your brain attacks itself, causing progressively more and more disability as the damage accrues. So far, my wife has had three "attacks", two of which involved going partially blind in one eye. In all three cases, she recovered. However, the more attacks she has, the more damage her brain has taken and the more likely it is she won't recover from an attack. Thus, it is really fucking important she take a medication that slows down the progression of the disease so she ends up able to see and walk and things like that.

That drug is Tysabri and, under my health care plan, it would cost about $5,000 a month.

Bit of background: I am a medical student and she was a software engineer. We had some savings beforehand ($25K) and accepted her salary was going to be put towards my schooling and our living expenses. She had great health insurance so her drug costs were very low. To keep my parts operating, I take a passel of generics that cost around $100/month, plus doctor's visits to keep all the levels in check. So at the outset we were only spending a few hundred a month on our medical needs. (FYI, none of them are preventable with lifestyel changes. The only thing that will fix my depression besides medication and therapy is the eventual bullet I put in my head.)