Author Topic: My true cost of going to college/university later in life ...is it worth it?  (Read 2893 times)

Hudson

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I am currently studying patrt as I work full time. I am in my 30's but closer to 40 than 30, so by the time I finish my undergrad teh reality is I may actually be in my 40's.

I will see this out as a) I am over half way and b) I believe in finishign what I start in these situations.

One current advantage is that I pay as I go to some degree, so upon completetion of my undergrad my student loan wil be somewhat minimal.

Now for the crunch...

I dont have any savings (I live week to week  and still use a credit card to top things up) I would like to do postgrad studies , but wonder if they are worth it ?

The questions I ask myself are:

by the time I finish posgrad studies it may be 5 or 6 years down the track at least from 2015. ...

so by teh time I (hopefully) start establishing myself in my chosen field I will be competing against younger folk who have the same qualification and lonegr to establish themselves, or against people already established in the field.

By studyign for another 6 + years I am cutting out 6+ years of earning money and in turn having money work for me.

All of which leaves me over 40 with no savings ...this screams FIRE to me...

the other side of me is complet emy undergrad and thgen grind hard for a few years and establish a sound financial base and then re-evaluate the situation.

Is anyone on the same situation or has been here before ? or any input at all is welcome.

Thanks in advance
« Last Edit: May 15, 2015, 06:42:12 PM by Hudson »

pbkmaine

• Walrus Stache
What are you studying?

Hudson

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Currently doing statistics...not that it come nataurally , but its fascinating, (would love to postgrad in sports science though)

mxt0133

• Handlebar Stache