Author Topic: my student loans... arghh..  (Read 7986 times)

FuckRx

• Pencil Stache
my student loans... arghh..
« on: September 29, 2013, 01:32:49 PM »

I've attacked my credit cards and only have about 13k left at 0% and I suspect I'll pay that off in the next 1-2 months.
I was hoping to start putting money away towards my FIRE but I just looked at my student loans and I'm getting charged like $270/mo of interest!! I had no idea.
I graduated 2009, It's a 30 year loan at 3% and I owe 117,027.53 with minimum payment of 604.18.
I'm embarrassed to admit that I just found out today that my principal has been going up because since 2009 I was only making partial payments of the interest and the rest was getting added to my principal. This is so frustrating.

LauraG

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: my student loans... arghh..
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2013, 01:47:00 PM »
Is the 3% interest rate on the student loans fixed? While the amount of interest you're paying each month likely hurts, it might be worth considering _not_ paying extra on your student loans and instead investing in a tax-protected index fund. The student loan interest is deductible and it's a very low interest rate.

Also, do you work in public service? If so, you can get your loans forgiven after 10 years of on-time payments. It sounds like you're doing an income-based repayment method, which is good if you're hoping to get loan forgiveness at some point but less useful if you think you're going to end up paying off the entire balance.

If you do not work in public service, have a low enough income that your income-based repayment amount is below the amount needed to attack the principal, and do not expect your income to increase significantly in the next 30 years, you might consider not paying off the loans in anticipation of forgiveness at the 30-year mark.

Catbert

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2013, 01:52:54 PM »