Author Topic: My Story- Any advice much appreciated!!  (Read 6168 times)

millionaire-mindset

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
My Story- Any advice much appreciated!!
« on: June 21, 2014, 03:01:31 PM »
I recently discovered this blog and have been hooked over the past couple days! What a great community with everyone being so supportive! I wanted to just go over my financial situation, and get any thoughts/suggestions to get to that goal of FI.

The basics:
I am a single 28 year old with no debt other than a mortgage I work in sales and have made around $120k/yr for the past 4 years and 60-80k for the first couple working years.

My primary residence is worth around 360k and I owe around $260k. I have owned this for 2 years.
I also own a duplex that I lived in for one year and have since rented both units. This property is worth around $425k and I owe around $260k. My rental income is $2,400 per month and payment with taxes and insurance is $1,650.

My company is great and pays for my vehicle and gas, so I do not have any expense there.

I just started my 401K this year and have $110k in taxable investments. My checking account currently has $30,000.

I automatically have $2,000 each month going directly into index funds and 3% of salary into 401k (to at least get the full match). My first few years of working i was working towards down payments, so most of my money has gone towards the two properties. At the end of the year, everything over $10,000 left in my checking account, I will put into the investments. I like to wait until the end of the year to evaluate everything before I put the excess cash in there.

I typically can save $40,000-$50,000 a year. I would say I am also spending too much right now on unnecessary things, and plan to cut back some.