Author Topic: My situation  (Read 13399 times)

Jack

• Magnum Stache
My situation
« on: October 08, 2012, 11:49:42 PM »
I am a 28-year-old civil engineer. My wife is a 28-year-old video game artist. We live in Atlanta. (And this is my first post to this forum.)

Income
  • Me: $42k/year (W-2); $1300/2-weeks net
  • Her: $40k/year (1099); no deductions

Assets
  • Fixer-upper house in gentrifying neighborhood ~4 miles from downtown: we paid ~$110k ~3 years ago, but Zillow claims it's worth ~$150k (I don't believe it; we haven't renovated yet)
  • IRA/Roth IRA: ~$14k
  • 1998 VW Beetle TDI manual: ~$5k
  • 1996 Ford Ranger 4-cyl manual 4x4: ~$3k
  • Cash: ~$3k

Liabilities
  • Mortgage: ~$86k 30-year-fixed FHA @ 5.25%; $638/month including taxes, insurance, PMI
  • Student Loans: ~$81k at assorted rates between 2% and 8% (guess is 4-5% average), evenly-split between us
  • Credit Cards: ~$6k @ 10% 9%, $4.1k @ 0% for 17 months, $4k @ 0% for 18 months

Expenses
  • Utilities
    • Electricity: $50 - $150/month (varies seasonally)
    • Gas: $50 - $150/month (varies seasonally)
    • Water/Sewer: $70/month (we use less than half as much as the average household, but the EPA forced Atlanta to spend $4 BILLION -- with nine zeroes -- fixing the sewers, so water is crazy expensive here)
  • Internet: $30/month
  • My cellphone: $0/month ($40 month for 1200 minutes, unlimited text and (slow) data, subsidized 100% by my employer)
  • Her cellphone: $0/month (on her parents' family plan)
  • TV: $0/month (I just canceled DirecTV @ $90/month; I might get Hulu/Netflix)
  • Food: maybe $400-$500/month (?)
  • Clothes/housewares: $25/month (?)
  • Vehicle expenses: $100/month (?)
  • Travel: $0/month

Notes