Author Topic: my neccesary commute with added badassity.  (Read 3858 times)

modusoperandi303

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
my neccesary commute with added badassity.
« on: April 21, 2012, 04:32:12 AM »
Soooooo I am a contractor and run my own company accounts and came across mr money mustache blog when trying to lower the cost of my commute but I have hit a bit of a wall so far as bad weather is concerned:

I used to commute by car every day though I change the place I work at roughly every 3 to six months and when I do change I need to take my tools with me (they weight 20kg+ and occupy a large 4 draw tool chest).

My ride is:
1997 proton 1.5gl automatic

it cost me £175 and had roughly 33000 miles on the clock (lucky find I know) when I got it
Insurance and Tax run just above £640 per year
yearly maintance is £120 to £150 (I do most of the work myself this mostly for tyres, fluid and a mot)
the cars mpg is at its highest is 35mpg cost per litre in the uk is £1.42 (as of 21/04/2012) making a gallon 1.42 * 4.33 = 6.15 (rounding up there), to make matters even more expensive petrol is expected to hit £1.50 a litre by the end of the year.

The above car costs me 0.29p per mile (at current fuel costs).

When I used to commute solely by car I used to only do 13000 miles per year and as I cant pick where I work quite as easily as say a carpenter I work in motor racing  and there are roughly 50 companies that specialize in the work I do. Luckly mostly 60 percent of these are within a 29 mile radius of where I live.
The first thing I looked at was trading the proton was for a motorcycle, something like a honda cbf 125 that would get roughly 80-100mpg and cost two thirds less to run than the proton. But this would limit the amount of tools I can take from job to job and limit my employment prospects. The lower costs were appealing but it still represents a yearly investment where as a bicycle was a one time investment (minus consumables).