Author Topic: My Case study, who wants to help? Thank you!  (Read 10186 times)

DenverStache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
My Case study, who wants to help? Thank you!
« on: December 20, 2012, 05:24:19 PM »
Hello Everyone,

I apologize for the long post.  This is my first post to the MMM forum.  I found this blog about a month ago while sitting at my computer sick of my job on a Friday and decided to google retirement.  My mind was immediately opened to the MMM way and I have read each and every article.  It was if every article was written directly towards me.  The similarities between myself and MMM are insane (except I am nowhere near as bad ass).  I too live in Colorado, I am an electrical and computer engineer, and I currently own 2 rental properties (on accident, kind of).   I have made significant strides within the last month to work towards the MMM lifestyle and I know I have a long way to go.  I thought that if I posted my current situation on here, I can get a group of Mustachians to help me accomplish my goals and move toward FI and happiness. 
   Within the last month, I negotiated to work from home, my wife takes the bus for free to work, and I paid off both of our cars (although I will rightfully get punched in the face for my fleet).  I understand that I am a long way on my expenses portion and I will get that in control right away.  This first post is to introduce myself and see if I can get any help on the “larger” questions of my financial situation.  Also, this provides a snapshot that I hope to update over the years so everyone can see this plan in action.  So the goal is FI by 2020 or sooner, will you help me?

Below is my situation with a few key questions.  Please let me know your thoughts and I would be happy to answer any questions.  Thank you for your help and I will be sure to return the favor.

Income
Jane
Monthly Salary ~$5000
401K Contribution ~$500
Take Home = $3400

John
Monthly Salary $9773
401K Contribution $1368
Stock Purchase Plan $977