Author Topic: Mustachian White Collar Workers--Where Do You Buy Your Clothes?  (Read 18895 times)

ReadySetMillionaire

• Handlebar Stache
I'm an attorney that has to wear dress pants and a shirt and tie every day to work. Right now my wardrobe looks like this:

-4 suits (two gray, two navy)
-12 dress shirts (6 white, 6 patterned)
-About 20-25 ties.
-1 pair of black dress shoes
-1 black belt

All of my suits, dress shirts, and ties are from the Brooks Brothers Outlet Store. The suits are especially good quality, and I've heard from almost everybody that it's better to buy four good suits rather than ten cheap ones.

Having owned both my dress shoes and white shirts for about four years now, though, I'm in need of getting more shirts and shoes soon. But it's almost impossible to keep my white shirts looking new and I might only get a couple of those and get more patterned shirts.

I'm a bit nervous about buying new shoes, though, because my current ones cost $175 (Johnston and Murphy). Mine are still in decent shape but I'd like to add brown shoes and belt to my collection.

So, any tips on the amount of clothes you should keep "in stock" and where to get great quality for good value? The Brooks Brothers semi-annual sale is great, I think, but I'm wondering if there's any alternatives.

h2ogal

• Stubble
Re: Mustachian White Collar Workers--Where Do You Buy Your Clothes?
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2015, 09:02:34 AM »
From your post you are a Male Mustachian I think....so this may not apply to you, but in case any females are interested I shop ONLY at major sales at large department stores or at discount outlets.

My work place dress code has changed a LOT over the years from Business Suits to Business Casual, so now I mainly buy inexpensive machine washable dresses, skirts, and blouses from TJ MAXX.   Saves on dry cleaning bill a lot!

Jack

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2015, 09:13:03 AM »