Author Topic: Mustachian Vacationing  (Read 6865 times)

nakedput

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Mustachian Vacationing
« on: September 11, 2014, 02:42:22 PM »
Hi all,

I am looking to take a 1-2 break from my current job and vacation. This will occur sometime either late Sept/early Oct or mid - late November. Originally, I planned on going to Costa Rica, but it seems that it will be the wet season and I do not want to deal with a bunch of rain.

A little on myself...I'm 25, I intend on travelling alone, and I intend on spending about 2k everything all in. I do not mind staying in hostels. I would prefer to go to a third world country, but am open to any ideas. I may even try couchsurfing.com. I want to experience the local culture, sightsee, and of course party. 

Please Mustachians, give me some insight into where I can travel and have a good time. If you can, let me know the cheap travel broker websites I should use, where I can find any discounts, etc. I am new to the whole travelling thing..I've really only been to Mexico (outside NA) with family, and have been to 6-7 cities in the US. I live in Calgary, AB currently.

Thanks!

Investing4Freedom

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Mustachian Vacationing
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2014, 03:28:49 PM »
I went to Costa Rica a couple of years ago.  While we stayed in hotels for the week, I saw hostels that were ~$10 night that made me and my girlfriend wish we had stayed there.  Also, look more at what rainy season means.  Rains may often be a passing storm for an hour or two in the evening.  As far as a travel broker, I'm not sure they would pitch you hostels.  Check Tripadvisor or other forum recommendations online.  We did not take any 'tours' with groups - we were both capable of hiking through parks or up mountains on our own.  If that is your thing though, it is very easy to find tours there.  $2k or less is certainly doable for one person, especially during rainy season.

Spartana

« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2014, 05:54:36 PM »