Author Topic: Mustachian Teachers  (Read 16477 times)

cabeasle

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Mustachian Teachers
« on: May 05, 2013, 12:31:04 PM »
I know there are a few of you out there on the forums.  I've seen your posts :)

I'm just curious about some Mustachian thoughts from the teacher's perspective.  I teach English at a High School.  Most of the time, I enjoy my job (though the after hours grading can be a bit heavy at times).  However, I am not married to the job, and if something were to present itself that paid well and also struck me as enjoyable, I would definitely consider the change (for the sake of novelty and keeping things fresh, if nothing else).

So here's what I'm wondering.

1) As a teacher, my salary is not impressive (though far from sad).  Saving greater than 50% would mean some serious thrifty living.  I am currently able to save about 40% per month, close to 50% if you include the forced pension contributions.  I would like that to be higher, but I'm not sure it is feasible right now without my feeling too deprived.  Unfortunately, as an educator, advancing to a higher salary is not an option.  The best I can do is switch to another district and possibly bring in 1-2K more a year, but the subsequent upheaval and move would cost close to that in expenses anyhow.

So, since the day job is limited as far as cash flow, what do you other teachers do to bring in extra cash?  Do you have any side hustles that you would recommend?  Things that fit well with a teacher's schedule?

2) One of the biggest potential earners is summer school.  Do any of you guys teach during the summer?  And do you find the extra 2-3K you net from it is worth giving up that precious time off to relax, rejuvenate, and practice what life will be like when you hit real FI?  I'm not sure that the money gained will make a large enough differences in my time-to-freedom to offset giving up the vacation.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Mustachian Teachers