Poll

What percent of your net income do you spend on rent?

0% (I live free somewhere)
8 (4.9%)
1-9%
16 (9.8%)
10-19%
48 (29.4%)
20-29%
39 (23.9%)
30-50%
18 (11%)
50%+
1 (0.6%)
I do not rent, I own.
33 (20.2%)

Total Members Voted: 155

Author Topic: Mustachian Renters - % of total take home income?  (Read 16269 times)

mobilisinmobili

• Stubble
  • Advance daily
Mustachian Renters - % of total take home income?
« on: March 19, 2013, 09:16:06 AM »
I've read in many finance books that your rent should never be more than 33% of your take home pay.

Curious what other mustachian renters are doing.. I'm at 25% of my take home pay for rent personally.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Mustachian Renters - % of total take home income?
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2013, 09:29:54 AM »
Added poll.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

matchewed

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2013, 09:37:04 AM »
Kinda glad to be putting it at a lowish rate. Roomate's GF is moving in which although increases the overall rent it drops by such a good amount for everyone on a personally paid basis. 15.8%*

*Edited for including percentage.
« Last Edit: March 19, 2013, 09:39:49 AM by matchewed »

ketchup

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2013, 09:48:56 AM »
Currently at 25%, but should lower soon, with 11% being best-case soon scenario (another roommate, back at the second seasonal job, and rental house occupied).

KatieSSS

• Bristles
  • "Because of your badassity, babe!" - My GoudaMan
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2013, 10:27:24 AM »