Author Topic: Mustachian Relocation Guide  (Read 301011 times)

zero_house

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Mustachian Relocation Guide
« Reply #200 on: November 23, 2017, 02:18:31 PM »
Sorry if I missed it, but has anyone reviewed Detroit yet? It seems like there is a lot of interesting stuff going on there culturally, and the cost of homes is certainly low. I'd love to hear more, especially from families with kids. Thanks!

TheGadfly

• Stubble
« Reply #201 on: November 25, 2017, 09:29:37 AM »
I'm really interested in a post about Chicago. I visited a couple weeks ago for a wedding and fell in love with it. Also, as a current Boston resident, I really envied the relatively low real estate prices. Thanks in advance!

freya

• Bristles
« Reply #202 on: November 25, 2017, 11:42:17 AM »
This one might be controversial, and I hope others with info to add will weigh in.  I see lots of reviews with comparisons to New York City, so why not consider retiring in the Real Thing?  I'm not FIRED but a friend of mine is, and she's thoroughly happy living here as an early retiree, on mainly the savings from her career as a veterinary nurse.

New York City, New York

Average housing cost (specify rent or buy):  Depends very much on the neighborhood.  My friend and I live in Washington Heights in northern Manhattan, and there are lots of nice options further north (Inwood) or in the outer boroughs. The only cardinal rule is to stay away from the prime real estate south of 110th street in Manhattan, and enclaves like Park Slope or Dumbo in Brooklyn.