Author Topic: Mustachian PhD  (Read 2304 times)

ruraljuror

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Mustachian PhD
« on: August 10, 2019, 09:53:34 AM »
When I reach FI in about 9 years I would like the opportunity to transition to professoring at my alma mater. While the university doesn't necessarily require a PhD (I have a master's), the credential would help me prepare for the career change and increase the likelihood of being hired.

What is the most economical and work-life-school balanced method for earning a PhD in the political science, public policy, governance, leadership, management without focusing on research. The university is a liberal arts institution.

i would continue to work full-time, so a part-time, online program seems the most feasible.

Appreciate any thoughts you may have.

mozar

• Magnum Stache
Re: Mustachian PhD
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2019, 10:05:36 AM »
You should ask the university you intend to teach at.

Kris

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2019, 10:07:26 AM »
What field specifically?

I think you should make an appointment with the chair of the department you want to work in to talk about this candidly. Because as a former chair in a liberal arts department, I don’t find this all that feasible.

RetiredAt63

• CMTO 2023 Attendees
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2019, 10:49:28 AM »
What field specifically?

I think you should make an appointment with the chair of the department you want to work in to talk about this candidly. Because as a former chair in a liberal arts department, I don’t find this all that feasible.

I don't see it as all that feasible in a lot of the sciences, either.  Definitely talk with the appropriate department chair.

There are masses of applicants for teaching and research positions at universities.  What special thing could you bring?  Is there one specialty that you could teach one course in, that would add value to their course offerings?