Author Topic: Mustachian Ideas for College Freshman Workshop Series  (Read 4134 times)

MillenialMustache

• Bristles
Mustachian Ideas for College Freshman Workshop Series
« on: June 26, 2014, 06:28:42 AM »
I am a freshman advisor at a small, private STEM university. Our office wants to offer a general workshop series about life topics. We teach a success strategies class and they are required to go to three events, so there is somewhat mandatory participation (other events are sporting events, career services, etc). Some ideas we are bouncing around are how to change a flat tire, how to change your oil, how to cook cheaply and healthy with only a microwave (that is all they have in the dorm - any good ideas for recipes?) -- any other ideas? I don't want to dive into full-fledged Mustachianism, just give them a little taste on how they can be more self-reliant and save money.

Thanks so much!

DocCyane

• Bristles
  • Keep going. You're doing just fine.
Re: Mustachian Ideas for College Freshman Workshop Series
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2014, 06:35:17 AM »
Since you're STEM, these kids won't freak out over simple math, so I'd recommend a "Cost of Debt" class - as in, how much it really costs to finance a car for 7 years, for example. But then again, they may rethink borrowing money to attend university. ;)

MillenialMustache

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2014, 06:41:12 AM »
Haha, I did think about that, but it is $15,000 or so in tuition a semester to attend this university, so that maybe wouldn't be a good idea. Although, not that many of our students take out loans.

AlanStache

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2014, 06:47:13 AM »
Since you're STEM, these kids won't freak out over simple math, so I'd recommend a "Cost of Debt" class - as in, how much it really costs to finance a car for 7 years, for example. But then again, they may rethink borrowing money to attend university. ;)